My KC Adventure

About being a dad and Leading the puppet team at my church

Who’d a Thunk it?

Back in the day when I was a member of the Holier than most, “Jesus Only,” cult if you had told me that one day there would be over 800 fellowships in America that follow a “One Church, Many Locations” pattern, I would have scoffed in your face.

“You mean everyone watches the senior pastor on a jumbo-tron screen and he’s not even in the building?  That can’t work!”

Well yes it can.  And it does!  In fact it frees up allot more space for growth and sets allot of people free to minister more effectively.  And making more and better disciples is what it’s ALL about.

Meanwhile back in those days if you had told me that I would drive 10 miles from my home in my small city to go to a church in the suburbs I’d have said,

“Get thee behind me!”

Especially if you had said the church was in the Town of Halfmoon.

“Halfmoon?  No Way!”

Way!  In fact I’ve never felt like I belonged more than I’ve felt now, and I got knit in so fast.  Part of it is God’s timing part of it’s the people and allot of it’s knowing that I don’t have to try so hard to prove myself.   Of course much of it has to with the fact that it took 10 years to get me out of a cult.  But it took another 2o something years to get the cult out of me!

But here I am.  Proud to belong to a satellite church that draws in part from the same area as the old cult church did.  And it feels so good to be SO OK with that!

Who’d a thunk it?!

And now it’s time to take it to the next level!  To go from being a classroom helper to a facilitator!  AKA a summer CO-OP Kidmo MC!

GASP!

Pray for me!

(I know it’s gonna be a blast!)  🙂

August 15, 2009 Posted by | 1 | , , , , , | Leave a comment